What do Florence+The Machine’s music and Ann Smith’s watercolours have in common?

Hello lovelies! BIG hugs to you all for bearing with my reduced blogging during this busy time. I am still snowed under but am missing you all so much, I thought I’d squeeze in a post today, especially as I am feeling energised and still buzzing from seeing Florence + The Machine last night. Best Tuesday night of my life.

Over the years, I have fallen in (and sometimes out) of love with several artists, but until Florence, I didn’t have a constant favourite. Now, more often than not, I turn to Florence to cure a creative block, to shake off nerves before a big meeting, to counsel melancholy moments, to provide company during a long drive, to block out the mundanity of household chores, or just to dance around for no reason.

Look at me, casually calling her by first name, as if I know her personally! But I feel such a connection to her music that it feels like it was written for me. I think many feel this way about her music, the complexity of which allows different people to connect to it in their own way based on their life experiences. I find her music powerful, profoundly beautiful yet fiery, edgy yet timeless, and even haunting in how it has a way of stirring things in you. There is an ethereal quality about her which makes her even more compelling.

So anyway (before I start to sound like a crazy obsessed fan), I wanted to match Florence’s ethereality to the sort of things we love to look at in this blog. One watercolour artist who immediately came to mind is Ann Smith. Her work blows me away as Florence’s music does.

I first came across Ann Smith’s watercolours in a book about painting techniques and had to immediately find more of her incredible work. Her layering of watercolours produces stunning, mind-blowing art. Here are a few of her creations…


“Bride”


“Intuition”


“Wild Spirit”


“Paradise”

More about Ann Smith and her beautiful watercolours can be found on her website.

“Painting is like dancing on paper.” – Ann Smith. Isn’t that the loveliest quote about art?

Which artist comes to your mind when you think of ethereality?

Do you have a constant favourite band / solo artist?

Would you class Florence + The Machine as a band or a solo artist? (there is so much confusion about that!)

 

5 Comments

Filed under Art, Featured talent

5 responses to “What do Florence+The Machine’s music and Ann Smith’s watercolours have in common?

  1. Florence is such a fabulous
    Performer. And those watercolors are trippylovely. George marks is my favorite artist who paints ethereally with the colors of my dreams.

    Smiles.

    Michele

  2. Oooh I do love me a bit of Florence as well (and I love that image you chose, it’s brilliant)!! Those watercolours are just amazing – I’ve found myself really getting into abstract watercolours these days which is strange because they never particularly appealed to me before… I’m going to consider it the ‘blog effect’ like so many of my other recent loves!

    When I think of ethereal artists, I can’t help but go back to my youth and my love of Tori Amos… I remember saying once that if I found out suddenly that she actually had wings, I wouldn’t be surprised. More currently, Agnes Obel has that quality of transporting you – the music makes you feel as though you are weightless. It’s really rather beautiful.

    Hope you are enjoying your little break – I’ve missed your lovely posts so pleased you decided to pop in! 🙂

    Mwah xxxx

  3. Hi Meerkat,

    I have missed YOU!

    So glad you manage to squeeze some culture into your life. I am way too busy with soccer and ballet and 15,000 playdates – all for the kids. But this weekend we are all trotting to the Seattle Art Museum to see the Gaugain exhibition. Always something.

    Love to you.

    Mon

  4. OMG..I’m listening to F+M right now! girl i love them! totally love the art you paired with it…fitting! Going to their concert in August! Can’t wait!

  5. Jo

    Such a lovely correlation! The paintings are so soft and fluid.

Leave a Reply

