Patchwork upholstery

My upholsterer just told me he found a live bullet in one of the antique settees that he is repairing and reupholstering for a client. It has been safely taken away by the police, he added. Definitely the most unusual work update I’ve had so far!

Anyway, now that we’re on the subject of upholstery, what do you think of patchwork?


Patchwork chairs by Kelly Swallow

Bright patchwork... not for me


I have been seeing a lot of patchwork pieces recently and sometimes I love them, sometimes not so much.

The trick is in the colours and patterns that are brought together in one piece. Too many patches of bright colours and patterns contrasting sharply definitely draw attention but would be too much of a statement piece for me, like this one on the right. If you like it, please feel free to shoot me down!

Done artfully, patchwork upholstery can look absolutely darling…


Very glamorous in soft-coloured satins via Squint


I’ve had this patchwork headboard in my inspiration folder for years and I still love it. Via Livingetc


Folding chair in romantic country fabrics: cute and practical. Via All About You


Patchwork chesterfield in crushed velvets at my local auction house… not the best picture so you’ll just have to take my word that it looked sweet. Hammer went down on £360. I would’ve bid if I was designing a funky snug to put it in.

 

What are your thoughts on patchwork?

 

8 Comments

Filed under Design

8 responses to “Patchwork upholstery

  1. These are gorgeous! I saw an old leather chair last year at a market nearby. It has been partially reupholstered with patchwork…and I STILL kick myself for not having bought it!!

    Grrrr.

    Sarahx

  2. I have mixed feelings about patch work… sometimes when subtle colours are used they look gorgeous… and sometimes oooohh!! Hurts the eyes for sure!!

    But Im not sure I’d have a whole sofa with patch work… maybe a small cushion, foot rest or even a chair.. But not more than that!!

  3. GB

    LOL the live bullet–now that’s history for ya! I like the concept of patchwork chairs, but can’t really envision bringing one home. I do love patchwork poufs though and they’re on my list of things to keep an eye out for.

  4. I love patchwork, and recently saw this couch which was on sale here…but my hubby was rolling his eyes…so I cannot get one!

    But love that headboard! Inspiration inspiration!

  5. i’m seeing it and loving it too. saturday night i got to see my friend’s newly spruced up living room, complete with patchwork pouf created with antique saaris. then a book called CASUAL LIVING arrived yesterday with a gorgeous patchwork upholstered sofa on the cover. i love casual, so i love the trend.

    beautiful images and inspiration, meerkat.

    smiles.

    michele

  6. I’m absolutely with you on that one. The slightly more muted ones are “more me” than the very bright ones. I love the elegant one by squint – wish I had the space for it 😉

    Thanks so much for your lovely comment. It seems that I’m not the only one who has found blogging to not always be a nice experience and I wouldn’t blame anybody for deciding to give up because of the negative parts… Though I think that by staying on, maybe the true and honestly (not fake) nice people will finally win 😉

    Wishing you a lovely evening xo

  7. Sorry for my terribly late reply – I’m so behind with visiting my favourite blogs! Booo!

    Anyway, patchwork… hmmm. I guess like you, I’m not mad on it when it’s really bright contrasting prints unless it’s in a completely white room with nothing else to fight for attention. To be fair, even the more subtle patchworks I am not that mad on… I don’t know why though. Even the very subtle one on the gorgeous satin settee, I would like it better if it weren’t patchworked!

    Perhaps it just reminds me of being a kid and always having patches on my clothes because we were too poor to buy new?? hahaha!! It’s got me thinking now though!!

    Hope your week is going swimmingly darlin! xxx

  8. Honestly, I am not a huge fan of patchwork upholstery because I am more into the “seamless” look. They are interesting to look at but they often look too busy to me. I guess at the end of the day, it’s a matter of personal preference. 🙂

    Have a nice day, Meera!

    Jessie
    http://www.mixandchic.com

Leave a Reply

