Wallpapered cloakrooms (powder rooms)

Cloakrooms are the kind of rooms where you can really have fun with decorating and let your quirkiness shine. I’ve just finished designing one for a very lovely client who wanted a cloakroom with a lot of interest that would make people want to keep revisiting it! Being a beautiful period property, the designs in her home also have to be traditional. So in short, traditional but interesting, fun and quirky.

When I first saw the cloakroom, it looked like this –

And now it looks like this –


with the blind up


with the blind down

Thrilled with how it turned out! This is the kind of period home where you don’t box in pipes, it’s all part of the charm (and makes fitting a blind a rather complicated affair, sometimes involving a bit of cursing). The mellow gold wallpaper designed from old family photos makes the space feel so much bigger, and infinitely more interesting. Visitors are sure to stay in there a while, looking at the little photos. The roman blind was a fun challenge: she wanted to carry the quirkiness into the blind and wanted it look like a picture, but not one large image as that would become boring (not to mention get lost in the folds when the blind is up). The answer came, after many iterations of ideas, from an amusing cartoon-type image titled “Notes on Pheasant Shooting” from a magazine dated 1905. An image of a traditional frame was digitally superimposed onto it, and it was printed to size onto fabric and made into a roman blind. She loves how it turned out, so I love it too. I adore this lady, she’s delightfully unique and makes my creative brain work harder than usual, which is good!

I digress. Back to wallpapered cloakrooms.

On the other end of the spectrum, here is a monochromatic flamboyant cloakroom for an equally flamboyant modernist client which went from this…

to this…

Such is the transformative power of wallpaper in a cloakroom. I love to see the reactions on people’s faces when they first open the door to an exciting room!

Now for your viewing pleasure, here are some more wallpapered cloakrooms in different styles:


Period charm: loving the wallpaper and Victorian loo! via House to Home


Toile bathroom via Lonny


Classically pretty, source unknown


Swimming with the fishes, via The Lennox


Dramatic black and white stripes, Nacho Polo via Desire to Inspire


Geometric, source unknown


Turquoise, lilac and brown: a pretty colour scheme I don’t see often, Tami Risinger via House of Turquoise


Very cute bird wallpaper, via Home Bunch


Is it just me or does the mirror frame look like frosting?? via House of Turquoise

 

How would you decorate a cloakroom?

 

8 Comments

Filed under Bathrooms, Design

8 responses to “Wallpapered cloakrooms (powder rooms)

  1. Fabulous – love decorating small rooms like this to make a statement. I had the tiny bathroom in my former house decorated with a grey and pink flamingo wallpaper and loved it. xo

  2. Well done on your projects. What a lift you gave these small but important rooms!

    I love a good wallpaper and have a real weakness for a good pattern. I totally go weak at the knees by black/white stripes. The birds are also lovely. As are the fish. So much fun!

    Thanks for sharing lovely. You’ve done so well. xx

    xx Charlotta

  3. loving the geometric wallpapers AND the house of turquoise image!!! holy cow. it is so gorgeouspretty without being too precious, and as a non-designer, it’s so tough to achieve this sometimes.

    BRAVO on your very cool projects–i can’t believe the creativity with the blind, and i can imagine that all that thought put into it will keep the homeowner happy for years to come!

    smiles and sunshine to you, meerkat.

    michele

  4. Hooray! I don’t think I’ve seen one of your projects before. That wallpaper in the first cloakroom is TOTALLY the kind of thing I’d want to go back and back to have a peep at!! I’d be in there all day!! I think I could get away with it if I blamed being pregnant!!!

    Sarahx

  5. I literally went “OH MY GOD!” outloud when I saw the black and white bathroom you designed – wow, what a massive difference that made to such a boring little space. And the blind is SO CREATIVE, I love the frame effect, it works sooooo well! Love that the ceiling was wallpapered as well, you would definitely spend some time in there and no one would raise any eyebrows lol

    As for the other inspirational images – oh my god, the fish, the birds, geometric – I love it all. I honestly have NO CLUE what I’m going to do in my own bathroom refurbish but I am loving all these ideas!!

    Thank you for the endless inspiration my dear! xxx

  6. Happy New Year Meera! OMG – that is really cool. I would not have dreamt anything so bold. I love your style interiors and that blind on the window is to die for 🙂

  7. Wait, wait, wait – Meera, this is FANTASTIC! Your client wanted a room that would make people want to keep revisiting it – I would LIVE in there! Very, very nice.

    Now, I want MUCH MORE information. Tell me exactly where you went to print that blind. I am so going to follow in your footsteps.

    5 stars my friend.

    ox, Mon

  8. Meera, what a great idea! The first powder room you did would be a space I want to keep on revisiting. I also love the modern wallpaper in the second powder room. It’s so bold and so fabulous. I am loving all your beautiful wallpapered powder rooms as well. Great job and wonderful inspirations as usual.

    Jessie
    http://www.mixandchic.com

Leave a Reply

