Little Greene paints

Hello lovelies! I hope you’re all having a smashing time with the festivities!

Busy busy here as I am juggling work deadlines, making some last minute Christmas presents, antiquing and sprucing up old furniture (more on that another time), baking, entertaining and parties. All good fun, though!

As I was gearing up for another hectic week, I came across The Little Greene Paint Company’s Flickr photostream and there were too many gorgeous images I couldn’t ignore. (I have been using Little Greene paints for years and only just found their images on Flickr!)

Many blog readers are probably aware of Farrow & Ball, which are lovely paints to use, but other boutique paint companies (Fired Earth, Albany, Zoffany, Designers Guild, Sanderson etc) are little known outside the interior design trade. Having used several paint brands over the years, I have developed a preference for Little Greene paints, although I do still use others depending on requirements.

This post is perhaps more for paint-thusiasts but for the others hopefully the swoonworthy images from Little Greene will keep you entertained!


Walls in Dark Lead Colour; chimney breast, fireplace and skirting in China Clay


Walls in Adventurer, a stunningly deep colour I recently specified for an ensuite

One of the most defining attributes of a heritage paint is the quality and complexity of pigment which gives the paint its depth of colour. These paints are therefore very interesting in that the undertones change in different lights and give real character to the colour.


Front door in lovely Celestial Blue
Note how the Celestial Blue paint colour looks in the images above and below.


Door and chest of drawers in Celestial Blue; walls in Portland Stone

Heritage paints are not just wonderful for decorating period houses, but also for creating timeless interiors in more modern spaces, like this gorgeous kitchen.


Kitchen units in Lead Colour, walls in China Clay and floor in Linen Wash

Having less water, more pigment and more binder than cheaper paints, these paints give excellent coverage and are a dream to use.


A case study in ‘white’: Cladding in Shirting, moulding in Joanna, floor in Portland Stone, chair in Silt
  


Wall in Portland Stone Pale, a yummy creamy colour (my favourite warm white); fireplace and side table in Portland Stone Dark

I am also loving the groovier colours in Little Greene’s paint charts –

  

and it’s great to see other designers who are also fans:


Broadway Cafe Bar in Nottingham, designed by Philip Watts Design

 

Having said all this, there will always be a place for the more economical brands. I once read somewhere that choosing paint is like choosing perfume or wine, it is entirely about personal preference (and budget). If you love the colour and get the right finish for the job, it’s all super! Even if you make a mistake with the colour, it’s hardly the end of the world, is it?

 

Images 1-11 Little Greene’s flickr photostream | Image 12 Philip Watts Design

 

9 Comments

Filed under Design

9 responses to “Little Greene paints

  1. Ok, first off – antiquing old furniture? Ooooh You’ve got me all intrigued now!! Can’t wait for you to share!!

    I know with paint that it’s a false economy and the times I’ve risked it with cheap paint, I’ve definitely paid for it!! I do like Dulux and I can’t say I’ve ever had a complaint about it but it’s good to know when I’m ready to ‘step it up a notch’ I will definitely consider your recommendation! I need to paint the front door this spring (once it’s warm enough again to keep the door open for an extended period) and I’ve been thinking of splurging on something a little more expensive so will definitely check out Little Greene Paint Company. I’m sure I have a booklet of their swatches somewhere!!

    As a side note, I’m loving the Celestial Blue – it’s really rather beautiful in both settings, pale and interesting!!

    Anyway, just wanted to say I hope you are having a bit of fun in all the running about as well this holiday!! Go grab yourself a glass of wine and some chocs – tis the season to be merry fa la la la laaaa la la la laaaaah!!!

    Big hugs baby xxx

  2. I like the Little Greene Paint Company and the choice they have. Will have to check out their flickr pics.

    I’ve always also liked Farrow and Ball, but have unfortunately had to discover that I wasn’t too keen on how many coats I needed to cover up the original wall colour (and it was dark on light!) when I painted a beautiful big hallway with their paint once… So, much better value for money and – sorry to say – quality solution: Take a paint sample of the expensive paint to Dulux to have the one you want mixed. It works wonders on your walls and wallet 😉

    Hope you get a chance to relax soon and enjoy the Christmas season with some mulled wine and mince pies 😉 xo

  3. omg, meera. i love your taste in paint colors! that dark lead colour and adventurer. i love how they are such un-colors and so sophisticated. thanks for introducing this new to me brand!

    smiles!

    michele

  4. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year Meera!

  5. Very interesting when you talk about how the paint changes their colors with different lighting. Never heard about that one before.

    Thanks for the introduction, Meera!

    Wishing you a wonderful and joyous Christmas season, sweetie!

    Jessie
    http://www.mixandchic.com

  6. Hi Happy Meerkat!

    I am saving that kitchen with the gray colors. Very me!

    I am signing off for the year. Thank you so much for all your endless inspiration and your friendship. You are a gem.

    Happy Holidays to you and yours! See you in 2012!

    Love, Mon

  7. Colour lover

    Just want to echo everything Meera has said about this company. Paint is the best I have ever used and if you DIY well worth it as finish looks expensive. I have painted their French grey in my drawing room and it has utterly transformed it. The colour changing qualities it has are almost magical, goes from blue to grey to mauve depending on light. It is also great for warming up a big light room in the evening, whilst still feeling cool and airy when the sun shines. The coverage is so good I don’t even think you get the cost saving for colour matching to Dulux and I find it very unlikely it would have the same pigments.

    On a separate note has anyone got any views on Joanna vs. Portland stone for upstairs corridors and bedrooms. Want them to feel airy and clean but still traditional as Georgian country house.

    • Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts, Colour Lover! Your drawing room sounds lovely!

      I would suggest Portland Stone for your upstairs, it has a very classic feel about it. Best to try a sample pot in situ first though, as the pigments look different in different light conditions.

      Meera xx

  8. hi, advice please! painting our lounge it faces nw and we want it warm…thinking of grey walls with raspberry sofas. will little greene french grey mid be too cool ? if so ,can you please suggest a warm gray?
    thanks a mill. caroline.

Leave a Reply

