Christmas countdown: advent calendars

Break out your advent calendars, the Christmas countdown has begun!

Are you excited? I AM!

A little creativity goes a long way with advent calendars and the excitement+fun of Christmas. Here are some cute DIY advent ideas –


Pyramid advent via Julie Ree


Matchbox advent via Living at Home


Cone advent via The Red Thread


Decorated pegs via Umla on Tumblr


A different way with magnetic spice jars via Twig & Thistle


Coffee cups advent via Living at Home


Plexiglass balls via Living at Home


Mini buckets via Sage


Santa’s truck via Living at Home


Advent ‘cake’ via House of Fifty magazine

 

Do you have an advent calendar this year?

Happy counting down!


via Julie Ree

 

8 Comments

Filed under Christmas, Craft

8 responses to “Christmas countdown: advent calendars

  1. Hooray! It’s December. I have Christmas carols playing, the cards are nearly written and our (thoroughly commercial…shame on me!!) Advent calendars are up!!

  2. Lovely ideas M! I wish my kids were still small. I remember the excitement they had opening the daily dose of their gifts 🙂

  3. Advent calendars are the perfect build up to the big day…love these!!

  4. These are such cute and clever ideas for advent calenders! Love these, Meera!

    P/S: Finally, an international giveaway! yay! Come by and enter my current giveaway for a chance to win a lovely charm bracelet, if you like.

    http://www.mixandchic.com/2011/11/product-review-and-giveaway-cutey-charm.html

    Jessie
    http://www.mixandchic.com

  5. These are fabulous and so many great ideas here… Oh I wish I was organised enough to plan ahead to make one ready for the 1st but I’m never that good! lol Will have to pin these for next year – love the little parcels on the pegs and the cake! So cute

    And oh yes, I am SO EXCITED that it’s going to be Christmas soon!!! 😉 xxx

  6. Oh wow, I’m so making that peg one this weekend! -and of course, I’ll be able to have the 5 first treats in one go on Sunday! 😉

  7. ooooh i think my fav is the clothespins! genius! and you too for liking it and posting it.

    this is a special season for me in spite of the fact i didn’t have my act together enough to make an advent calendar–now no excuses for next year.

    michele

    • As I posted this, I realised it’s a tad late for anyone to actually use any of these ideas (I need be more organised with Christmas posts!) but I like niceday4asulk’s plan – just make one at the weekend, albeit a little late, then have several treats at once to catch up on the countdown! 🙂

Leave a Reply

