Artist love: Gavin Harrison

Gavin Harrison is as creative as creative gets. An illustrator and an astoundingly brilliant photographer, Gavin is now creating artwork that combines mediums he has previously worked with: drawing, painting, montage and photography, resulting in art pieces that are richly detailed and a complex cocktail of dark humour and nostalgia.

First, here’s a taster of Gavin’s whimsical and undeniably sexy photography…

See more of his photography on his website – www.gharrisonphotography.com and on his blog – The Eloquence of Wanton Curiosity.

Now on to his art…


“Corrosion” – haunting yet beautiful, and visually very compelling


“Sweet” – sugary and candy-like at first glance, but look closer and there’s a touch of darkness within

The two pieces above are available as limited edition prints of 50 at his shop Gavin H Emporium. Also available are cards in the following two designs:


“Man In The Hat”


“Sweet Bird Song” – created from a section of the “Sweet” collage

Also check out his work at the Keep Calm Gallery


Detail from “Win Fame and Fortune”, available at the Keep Calm Gallery

Gavin’s art is the kind that would sit as comfortably in a contemporary urban space as it would in an eclectic setting mixed in with vintage pieces.


“Food For Thought”


“Everything and More”


“Corrosion”

I was delighted when Gavin contacted me to introduce his art as I am bowled over and fascinated by his work, and am excited to see what he creates next. If you feel the same way, here is your chance to get your mittens on a little piece of Gavin’s fantastic work – one of his cards is up for grabs! All you have to do is visit the shop Gavin H Emporium and leave a comment here saying which one of his two cards you would like – Man In The Hat or Sweet Bird Song, and a winner will be picked at random next Monday 19th September. Easy peasy!

 

10 Comments

Filed under Art, Featured talent

10 responses to “Artist love: Gavin Harrison

  1. sweet mother, my choice is sweet bird song!

    glorious art, meera…thanks so much for sharing. loving the whimsy and lightness the humor adds to the work (nothing like dark humor to lighten up a piece. wait. what?). you know what i mean.

    it’s still summery here so i am soaking up all the rays i can get today, finding excuses to be outdoors.

    love to you.

    michele

  2. cool! everything and more! big hugs to you

  3. Hey Meera!!! so good to see you after long. Thanks for all your wonderful comments on my blog and you totally made my day πŸ™‚

  4. Whoa! What a fantastic post! Looooving it! πŸ™‚

    So nice to have you back! I loved reading your comments and Thank YOU so much for letting me know about that divine table! I was so curious about that! Thank you, thank you!!!

    Have a great Tuesday, gorgeous!

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

  5. Thanks for leaving your thoughtful comments on my blog,
    Meera! I always enjoy reading your comments. πŸ™‚

    Sweet bird song is my favorite! I have a fascination with bird related artwork! πŸ™‚ Lovely giveaway. Thanks for the head up!

  6. Definitely, definitely man in a hat!! Here are my reasons:

    a) I love it – the quirky, the darkness and the untold story.
    b) the colours perfectly match my front room!!

    (Is that shallow?!)

    Sarahx

  7. Wow…love them all, but the colors in Sweetness are wonderful!

  8. Oh wow, SO intriguing! I love his work! There is a compelling darkness that makes you just want to look deeper, truly facinating!

    I would be hardpressed to pick but Sweet Bird Song just edges out… I’m loving his photography as well, off to check out his site. Thank you for introducing him and this fab little giveaway πŸ™‚

  9. Hi lovely!

    Did you put together this post just for me? You know how much I love art!
    And Gavin is clearly very talented.

    Please put my name in the hat for the Man in The Hat! Nice composition plus it makes me want to learn more about him.

    Love to you,

    Mon

  10. Pingback: Dressing Room Before & After: Turquoise Dresser with Gold Accessories » Swoon Worthy

Leave a Reply

