Rugs in kitchens – pretty vs practical


High Gloss – Feb/Mar 2011

There is no debate whatsoever about how gorgeous oriental rugs or kilims look in a kitchen (or in any space, for that matter).

Every time I come across such an image, I delight in the beauty of the look but the practical voice in my head wonders if anyone actually cooks in that kitchen. Is the rug there everyday or just for the photoshoot?


High Gloss – Feb/Mar 2011

It goes without saying that only very flat rugs are even in question here (no trip hazards) and they should be sourced cheaply (an expensive rug in a working kitchen wouldn’t be very clever, imo).

I’ll let the images do all the pretty talking in this debate and you are free to ignore my ramblings on mess and practicalities if you so wish.


Elle Decor

Colin and I love to cook (I cook with intuition and Colin cooks like the scientist that he is – we are a perfect culinary team). Usually there is music playing which results in a bit of hip-wiggling as the flavours are thrown together in the heat. Sometimes there is even a glass of wine in our hands when we’re working on a simmering dish.

All this means that there is mess. Fun mess that is easily cleaned off hard surfaces, but mess that I wouldn’t want to see on a lovely rug.


Lonny

When it comes to cleaning the kitchen floor/rug, dry crumbs are no problem, they can be swept or hoovered away easily. But what about a splotch of tamarind sauce or a smear of toasted sesame oil on a lovely kilim??

Some might say the stains would blend in with the pattern on the rug, but I would know the stain is there and it would bother me. A lot.


Home Bunch

As much as I love the look of a kilim in a kitchen, I don’t want to spend any more time with marigolds and cleaning products than I currently do, and I don’t want to spoil my cooking fun with wariness about ruining a rug. But that’s just me. Maybe I’m messier than the rest of you.

Would you have a rug in your kitchen? (Please feel free to say yes so I know I have not ruined this for you!)

If you already have one, do let me know how you handle the practicalities. 🙂

 

14 Comments

Filed under Design, Kitchens

14 responses to “Rugs in kitchens – pretty vs practical

  1. Hello! Yes it’s a bit of an internal battle for sure.
    I think I would go for it if I didn’t have young children who are in training of a) carrying their own plates after a meal and b) who love cooking with me. And let me just say that these adorable little monsters love to cook with their whole bodies..!
    When they are older I would for sure consider a great rug for the kitchen but still I would go for one that could actually be dry cleaned. A valuable original/authentic rug can’t – it should not come in contact with any kinds of acids or chemicals.

    Loving (!) the look though!

    x Charlotta

  2. Hi Meera!

    Thank you for mentioning “HomeBunch”, sweetie.

    I like rugs in the kitchen, they do look great, but you’re right. I wouldn’t spend lots of money on it, because I try to keep everything neat while I cook, but accidents (like pasta sauce flying to the ceiling) can happen, right? 🙂

    Love your picks! Beautiful!

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

  3. Hey sweetie!
    Hmm not sure – they look great but agree about the spills, we have one under our table in the dining room and that also gets v messy. I cant imagine what it must be like if we had children too!
    Rachie xo

  4. Victoria Athens

    I love rugs in a kitchen. With new technology there is a compromise vis-a- vis soils. Check out the kilim Pottery Barn is selling. It is an indoor/outdoor carpet that can be hosed off, if it comes to that. I recently purchased one and it looks and feels like cotton or wool and is quite beautiful. Problem solved.

    http://www.potterybarn.com/products/tauna-kilim-outdoor-rug/?pkey=e%7Ckilim%7C10%7Cbest%7C0%7C1%7C24%7C%7C3&cm_src=PRODUCTSEARCH||NoFacet-_-NoFacet-_-NoMerchRules-_-

  5. i’m with you, meera. i can’t have a rug in the working area of the kitchen. but i understand how it is more comfy underfoot if one has tile. but i am gearing up to put one (probably jute) under my table and chairs. hoping it will not be marred too quickly by red wine and marinara which is pretty standard here.

    how funny i was just chatting about rugs over on Monika’s blog!

    i love hearing from you, my friend. your comments always brighten my day, and i so wish i could hug you in person.

    michele

  6. Nothing Lasts Forever

    Beautiful pictures ! I love the really modern one (the first) !

  7. I have a rug in my kitchen and I cannot imagine operating around my work area without this rug. Ofcourse one cannot have the silk or handwoven carpets but there are many washable ones that look as good. I just dust off once in a couple of days and wash it once a week or 10 days as required :-).

  8. Rugs here! 2! But nothing expensive. I do spot cleaning myself and ocassionally I let the carpet cleaner guys go over them. (Organic stuff). I think my rugs warm up the place!

    I can see you being a great cook and having fun as you go along!

    Warm hugs to you my friend.

    Mon

  9. We don’t have any rugs in the kitchen. Only kitchen mats, the very generic woven type. It gets dirty all the time because I cook everyday. And I cook all sorts of food from Chinese to India cuisine all the time. With a cheap mat, I can throw it in the washing machine when it gets dirty. Thanks for mentioning my blog in the previous post! 🙂

    Jessie
    http://www.mixandchic.com

  10. lovely selection! love the Lonny image! happy weekend to you and lots of virtual hugs 🙂

  11. Ooooh I’ve considered a rug for the kitchen but like you, have been swayed on the side of can’t-be-arsed-with-having-to-be-extra-careful when I’m cooking! Are there washable rugs available in the UK that could look that gorgeous? Because don’t get me wrong, wow, these kitchens are AMAZING but an expensive antique rug versus the cooking that goes on in our house (we like to cook together too!), the rug would never in a million times win. Look fab though, not sure how practical it is considering what’s currently available here in the UK though! Sigh.

  12. I have 2 rugs in the kitchen with hardwood floors and it really looks great, warms up the space, and anchors the color in the room. They are washable and have held up now for several years. Good ones are worth it but not too expensive!

Leave a Reply

