Gallery walls


via Remodelista

There are a couple of walls in my home that are crying out for an arty display so gallery walls have been on my mind for a while. I know they have been all over catalogues and blogs, but I don’t know anyone who isn’t a fan of good art displays so hopefully you won’t mind going through yet another post about gallery goodness. 🙂

I find gallery walls delightful for the creative freedom and expression they allow as there are so many ways to put together an artful display, but sometimes this makes it difficult to know where to begin. When I help clients with their art displays, I find the best way to start is by figuring out what level of eclecticism vs structure is desired. So I have grouped my favourite gallery images into 4 categories, ranging from very eclectic to very structured.

 

(1) Organic and random


Graham Moss


Wall & Keogh Organic Tea House in Dublin; image via Think Contemporary


via snOOp


Livingetc April 2011, Molteni & C advert

 

(2) Chicly eclectic


Poliform


Room & Board


Apartment Therapy


Lonny May-June 2011

 

(3) Cohesively balanced


Sköna hem


Graham Moss


casa diseno

 

(4) Themed and symmetrical


Pulp Design Studios


source unknown


Livingetc April 2011


decor pad


House Beautiful

 

Do you have a gallery wall in your home? Any favourites here?

 

8 Comments

Filed under Art

8 responses to “Gallery walls

  1. Good post. I love how you put them in categories for easy reference. I really like the cohesively balanced and themed and symmetrical. Knowing myself, these art groupings would suit my personality the best although I like other groupings, too.

    Jessie
    http://www.mixandchic.com

  2. ooooh i like this post! in my childhood home we always had several gallery walls in the house, and i still remember the pieces on the wall. my sister has the most incredible themed/symmetrical arrangement in her family room, and i’ll ask if i can share it and link back to this post! love the graham moss image and how you were able to conceptualize what appears to be randomness into fun helpful categories.

    michele

  3. Great shots….love the last one so much!

  4. they are wonderful, Meera! love the Pulp Design Studios image. hugs hugs

    http://design-elements-blog.com/

  5. Nothing Lasts Forever

    The first shote is amazing ! Your blog is so inspiring ! Check out my blog : http://nothinlasts.blogspot.com/

  6. Oh what a great post with so many GREAT images! I love what you’ve done here with catagorising everything! I have a gallery wall in my hallway that is very Themed & Symmetrical (all white frames, all of W’s travels in South America and perfectly symmetrically placed) and then I have my gallery wall in my dining room which is definitely Organic & Random. I am fighting my need for symmetry in all my decorating so with the dining room, have really gone the other direction with trying to acheive an eclectic mix which still manages a cohesive balance. A challenge for me anyway!

    Do you think there is any harm in having varying types of galleries in one home?

    xxx

    • Thank you Red 🙂
      The gallery walls in your home are gorgeous, and I love that you mix things up! No reason why you can’t have different types of galleries in different rooms, as each room has its own character. Variety is the spice of life, as they say 🙂
      xx

Leave a Reply

