Pia Jane Bijkerk


“There is a little bit of magic in everything, you just have to look real close”
Pia Jane Bijkerk

 

Ever since I first heard of Pia Jane Bijkerk a couple of years ago, I have been entranced by the way she captures the world with such depth, allure, tranquility and romance.

Pia delights in finding inspiration in the everyday, as well as stepping off the beaten track to discover the unexpected. Her enchanting styling and photography talents feel out of this world and I am completely in awe of this lovely lady. Yup, serious idol worship going on here.

If you know of Pia, you’ll know of her first two utterly delightful books –
Paris: Made by Hand and Amsterdam: Made by Hand, which have been huge hits – no surprise there. Her books are filled with beautiful photos and guides to discovering handmade artisans, shops and specialties in these wonderful cities. If you’re going to visit either of these places, take her books as city guides that will take you on discoveries you’ll never forget! Fabulous Michele of hello lovely inc wrote an enchanting review of these books – click here to be transported.

Now there’s a third book, My Heart Wanders, due for release in the UK next month. Oh yes, Pia fans, there is a treat in store for us! You’re excited, yes? This book is Pia’s story, beautifully told with alluring photos, of how she leaves a comfortable life in Sydney to unconditionally follow her instincts. Setting up home first in Paris, then in a houseboat in Amsterdam, Pia observes the serendipitous moments that present themselves when letting go and following one’s dreams. “My Heart Wanders is a reflective, inspirational, tender memoir that speaks to ‘the wandering heart’ in all of us.”

As someone who has travelled continents in search of a place to belong, finding meaning in life and following dreams, I have been eagerly looking forward to this beautiful book authored by someone I admire so greatly.

So imagine my delight when I came home from work on Wednesday to find among my mail…

Yes, My Heart Wanders is in my hands, thanks to the lovely people at Murdoch Books who sent me a review copy! I hadn’t quite realised how much I had been looking forward to this book until having it in my hands literally made me jump up and down a few times and do my happy dance 😀

I cannot wait to lose myself in the wondrous visual escapes that Pia has captured in this book and read her story, then of course, share my thoughts with you, my lovely readers!

In the meantime, check out her incredible talent on her website and her blog which she has beautifully taglined: enhance the everyday.

Happy weekend, folks!

 

14 Comments

Filed under Featured talent

14 responses to “Pia Jane Bijkerk

  1. Thanks for introducing her beautiful work to us. I will check out her website and blog when I get a chance!

    Have a great day, Meera!

    Jessie
    http://www.mixandchic.com

  2. Shanthi

    WOW !!! Looks like I am hooked and am going to buy all the three books. Thanks for introducing Meera.

  3. These photographs are A-MA-ZING! Thank you for posting about Pia, yet another blog to be obsessed with!
    Gaelle

  4. can’t wait to get my copy! this is a gorgeous gorgeous post, meera!!! Pia’s work is such a treasure to behold, and hopefully in immersing myself in her photography, a little of the magic will rub off!

    thanks too for the nod! you are so kind and just a favorite blogland babe of mine!

    hope this finds you contentedly comfy!

    michele

  5. Oh wow, what a fabulous introduction to such gorgeousness! Will definitely check out the website & blog and will definitely put the books on my Amazon Wishlist (which is growing by the day) – how exciting to have a review copy of it, you lucky lady you! Can’t wait to hear your review 🙂

    Hope you are having a fabulous weekend my darling and yes, I’m exactly the same. Blogging should be something you enjoy and not something you feel obligated to do… quality rather than quantity eh? 😉
    xxxx

  6. wow… i love the book although I didn’t read it. I’m sure it will be wonderful. I ordered it 2 weeks ago but I still did’t receive it. Beautiful post, quote, images…Happy Sunday!

  7. Good morning dear Meera,

    Isn’t Pia fantastic! I have her first book. Lucky you who gets to lose yourself in her latest book (what a lovely & inspiring title btw). I would also do a little happy dance!

    Warm hugs to you,

    Mon

  8. I need to find more about it. This post is so beautiful, Meera.

    How are you doing, sweetie? I hope you have a fantastic day!

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

  9. Nothing like a good book! Love that little happy dance dude 🙂

  10. This looks like a wonderful book…must add to my collection!!

  11. ohh so lovely. romance in photos

  12. just dropped again to tell you that I got my copy of the book today 🙂 it’s wonderful! warm hugs to you

  13. Hey, just dropping by to let you know that you have been awarded The Versatile Blogger Award. When you get a chance, please visit my blog to pick up your prize. Thanks.

    Jessie
    http://www.mixandchic.com

  14. Me again! I am off to Sweden. Just wanted to say hi before I leave!

    Happy weekend to you lovely Meera.

    Mon

Leave a Reply

