They Draw and Cook

Hello lovelies! I hope you’re all having a super weekend.

I’m having a little depart from interiors today but this is too cute and artsy and foody to not share!

I’ve just discovered the most delicious site – They Draw and Cook

     (click on images to see the recipe in full size)

The website is the brainchild of Nate Padavick and Salli Swindell, a brother and sister design and illustration team, who started a blog to bring favourite recipes to life through illustration. Now the site is FILLED with recipes illustrated by artists from all around the world.

Ok, it’s not just cake, there’s all kinds of food!

Even if you’re not looking for a recipe, these cute/funny/sweet illustratations will probably make you want to get busy in the kitchen.

Their Find A Recipe and World Map features can help you narrow down your options. But you may end up spending hours selecting different options just to see more recipes and be entertained by the quirky drawings.

If all the hundreds (maybe thousands) of charming and yummy-looking recipes have your mind boggled as to what to pick, the Dial-A-Dinner feature picks for you. It works like a slot machine to select a starter, main and dessert from their many many recipes. FUN!


If you want vegetarian only options, click on Salli to see what she’s serving (so thoughtful), otherwise click on Nate.

One click takes away the thinking for the meal you want to plan. Or you can play the slot machine over and over again, for fun.

 

Are you loving They Draw and Cook? Yes, of course you are. Silly question.
Then you’ll be super excited to hear that they are going from blog to book!

The book contains 100+ recipes from drinks to desserts, with the illustrations ranging from cute to hilarious to elegant. It will be released in October but is already available for pre-order on Amazon. It is sure to be a hit!
Anyone else thinking Christmas present?

Don’t shoot! I know I know, even as I write this I am cringing at myself for mentioning the C-word in April, but just imagine how organised you will feel when this arrives through your door in October, just as you are starting to think about the holiday season.

Besides, it can also work for other types of presents for kids who are into cooking, adults who are afraid of fancy cooking, students going to university…

If you’re going to order it, you’ll get extra special nice brownie points for ordering through my Amazon store (found under the Fun Illustrations category). ๐Ÿ™‚
No book cover image shown on Amazon yet, as they’ve just recently decided on it.

Shameless plug done, I am off to enjoy some sun rays. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

I hope you’re enjoying your weekend, darlings. Catch you in the week!

 

12 Comments

Filed under Art, Miscellaneous

12 responses to “They Draw and Cook

  1. Oh wow, this is amazing! What a great find! I know what would happen to me, however, I would be trying to decide what to make for dinner and two hours later, I’ll still be playing with the site and looking through the fabulous illustrations and no one will have been fed lol

    Thanks for sharing, my dear and hope you are having a fabulous weekend!
    xxx

  2. amaZING post!!! thank you so much…you really covered all of the fun details! thanks for including Dial-a-Dinner…we think that’s a super cool feature even though I spend waaaay too much time dialing my dinner instead of actually cooking my dinner ; )

  3. GB

    Oh goody! I’d known they were putting together the book and it’s good to know it’ll be available on amazon–you’re right, it’ll make a wonderful c-gift.

  4. Yes of course we love these guys!! Yum and fab all at the same time.

    Enjoy the sunshine my dear. Well deserved.

    xx Charlotta

  5. amazing post! I like it a lot also this is what I did on Sunday: draw and cook ๐Ÿ™‚ Hugs

  6. That looks like a fab, fab, fab book. I’m wondering if I’d be so busy looking at the drawings that I’d burn the supper!!!

    Sarahx

  7. i’m crazy for cookbooks so this will be mine. just when you thought recipe books could not be any cooler…what a fab idea.

    my favorite thing to make is homemade pizza, and last night was an experiment. i’m trying to replicate the pie at my favorite Chicago place Lou Manlnati’s (no amount of flattery or begging has gotten me anywhere with them). anyway…IT WAS A TOTALLY YUMMY FIRST ATTEMPT. i’m getting there! my family inhaled it. if i could draw it would be a happy happy illustration.

    have a fab Monday, friend.

    michele

  8. Wow! I think my husband and I will just devour this book. My elder daughter seems to be inclined towards being a pastry chef…so me thinks I should get her this book and see what happens. OOO Amazon here I come!

  9. What a creative place! Thank you for sharing! Maybe it will turn little me into a great chef! Ha! I think I need to pre-order the book for my dear food bloggie friend, Ewa. And yes I will order via you of course.

    The rays have reached Seattle as well!

    Hugs to you, girlie.

    Mon

  10. What a fun book…love the illustrations!!

  11. OMG I love this – so much fun!
    BTW: Did i miss your blogs facelift! It looks so good ๐Ÿ™‚ xxx

Leave a Reply

