A stylish award & 7 things about me

The sun is shining (I hope it is wherever you are too), birds are singing, flowers are blossoming AND it’s Friday! Shall we all do a little happy dance?

I have been feeling particularly floaty in blogland as the beautiful Luciane from Home Bunch has given me this most fabulous Stylish Blogger Award! I am stoked and honoured, thank you very much, lovely Luciane! *hugs*

I came across Luciane’s blog, Home Bunch, a couple of months ago and was instantly hooked. She researches far and wide to show us incredible spaces along with her witty and entertaining commentary.

From the kind of quirky that makes you raise an eyebrow…

to the charming and adorable that makes you smile…

to the decadence that makes you go oooh…

to the utterly sublime that leaves you lost for words.

So check out Home Bunch if you haven’t already!

This award carries with it the obligation to reveal 7 things about oneself. I happen to be a private person (really) so this is a big deal for me, like baring naked to you all… ok, here goes.

  1. I am not a morning person, so I am incredibly lucky to have a husband who wakes me up with a lovely cup of tea everyday. He spoils me and I love it! πŸ™‚
  2. I don’t watch reality TV shows.
  3. I have 3 main bugbears when it comes to interiors (this is not a rant, just letting you into my little head!):
    (a) Curtains dangling in the middle of nowhere – I advocate floor length curtains as far as possible, but if they have to be short, then the drop should be at the window sill (in my opinion).
    (b) TVs in living rooms that are mounted too high – why anyone would willingly want to look upwards to watch TV is beyond me (there will be neckache after watching Lord of the Rings in that position). I wonder, do these people willingly sit on the front row in the cinema?
    (c) A sofa positioned in front of a radiator – that radiator is doing as much good as not being there at all!
  4. I value comfort and practicality above all else. Therefore I don’t buy shoes higher than 10cm no matter how pretty. My usual criterion is 9cm, but if they are really pretty, then I’ll stretch to 10cm.
  5. I don’t like clothes-shopping on the high street, especially during sales when people seem to lose their marbles. Online shopping was invented for people like me, I think.
  6. I am a big dreamer. Not like world domination or big riches (though I wouldn’t say no), but more like having the opportunity to try my hand at different things (I do have to keep reminding myself that there is no such thing as a master of all trades!), exploring different experiences and having a happy existence doing fun things. My super-wonderful, supportive and encouraging husband fuels my dreams. There are little seedlings of ideas germinating in my head for new ventures and I hope you will continue to be here so I can share my journey with you lovely people!
  7. My best ideas seem to come to me in the shower (does this happen to anyone else?). But often, so many ideas flit around in my head that by the time I am back in the dry, I can’t remember half of them. So I’m thinking there is a gap in the market for a waterproof writing pad. You get shower radios now, so this can’t be too hard. Would there be any takers for this invention (besides myself)?

And finally, I get to award 10 recently discovered stylish blogs. This idea is great for the blog-discovery process as there are some fabulously stylish bloggers out there that I think everyone should know about! So without further ado, I am passing this award to the following stylish bloggers that constantly inspire me (in alphabetical order, no bias!):

  1. A Chi Chi Affair
  2. Design Chic
  3. elle oh
  4. hello lovely inc.
  5. La Maison Boheme
  6. Modern Country Style
  7. snOOp
  8. Solid Frog
  9. Splendid Willow
  10. Swoon Worthy

Check out these gorgeous blogs, have a great Friday and a fun weekend, my lovelies!

Happy Dance!

21 Comments

Filed under Miscellaneous

21 responses to “A stylish award & 7 things about me

  1. Aah thanks so much for the award hun! You inspire me too! Love the happy man dance! WOO! xxx

  2. Many congratulations Meera! And I love to come by your blog…it sure is Ssstylisssh!

    So happy for you!

  3. you so deserve this award!!

    you are beyond lovely, meera. thanks for the nod. i am so with you on the post-shower enlightenment amnesia issue, and we really must put our heads together, take over the internet, and be rich together…will you decorate my beach house? due to tiny syndrome i wear high heels often and actually feel panicky in flats (except for running shoes) but i see no reason this should end our happy honeymoon, yes? besides, I AM TOTALLY AN ONLINE CLOTHES SHOPPER TOO — ISN’T IT THE BEEEEESSSSSST? Humanoid top last week for $13 via ebay! back to work i am! hugs to you first.

    michele

    • Yes yes and yes! Let’s do it!
      We have lots in common, even the heels, so nothing to get in the way of the honeymoon β™₯! I wear them all the time too (those are some of my brighter ones in the picture), that’s why I limit them to 4″ or else picking up furniture/furnishings supplies, doing minor DIY and generally running around in higher heels would damage me! Hugs back! xxx

  4. Awww you sweet thing you! Thank you, I’m honoured!! πŸ™‚ You know I love your blog, so much loveliness all in one place so your award is sooooo deserved!

    And can I just say that, I’m not a morning person either, I love your 3 bugbears (totally with you) and I abhor shopping on the high street! lol Online shopping for me as well, a million times easier and I can do it in my pajamas (even better than flats – NO SHOES AT ALL) with a glass of wine – I mean, life doesn’t get better really does it?

    Hope you are having a wonderful weekend darling! xxx

    PS If you and Michele take over the world and become very rich, can I work for both of you? πŸ˜‰ x

  5. You sweet thing! Thank you so much for honoring me with the Stylish Blogger Award. I also love your blog and am constantly peeking in for inspiration. Xo – Sarah

  6. Meera. Why have I never seen your blog before?!
    I too am an online shopper, practical shoes all the way, not a morning person whatsoever and dreaming should be my full time job! Creativity for me happens in the evening (notebook by the bed) and Im constantly thinking up new tricks. I too thank my lovely Boyf for supporting me!

    Congratulations on your award! Can’t wait to read more : )
    xx

  7. Mia

    Congratulations! And thanks for passing it on to me πŸ™‚ I’m proud to be chosen!
    Have a great new week!

  8. Congratulations on the Stylish Blogger award and thank you for sharing your list of personal trivia.

    I see several dear blog friends in your ‘pass on list’ – they are all wonderful and definitely deserve a lot of blog love!

    Have a lovely start to the week.

    x Charlotta

  9. Yeah! well deserved….totally # 6 with you girl!

  10. Meera,

    I’m loving your “happy dance”! πŸ™‚

    It was really nice getting to know you better. I’m also a VERY private person, so I know how hard it is to start talking about yourself… after you start, it gets easier, no? πŸ™‚

    Thank you so much for your kind words about my blog. It’s really nice of you and honestly, it made me feel happy.

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

  11. Love that happy dance man!

    And yes, yes, and yes to ideas in the shower, waterproof notepad (brilliant), and ideas glittering in and out. Congratulations on your award!

  12. I just popped by to say hello and congratulate YOU and then I see my own blog on the list. Thank you! But YOU are the one who should get all attention. Your blog is on fire and your posts are always inspirational. I love coming here.

    Warm hugs to you.

    P.S I will soon engage you in a new little series I am starting.

    P.S Mia with Solid Frog is a good friend of mine. We hooked up in Stockholm last summer. She is adorable!

Leave a Reply

