IKEA hack: boring old rug to chic block-print fabulousness

I just love a good IKEA hack! I did one last year (post here). It was nothing major – just paint and a change of knobs – but it gave me exactly what I wanted (an alternative to French silver-leaf bedside cabinets) and I still love the result.

Anyway, I recently came across an absolutely brilliant IKEA hack over at Apartment Therapy

A cute living room… and how gorgeous is the rug??

Would you believe that that lovely expensive-and-vintage-looking rug was an old IKEA wool rug that had been left unloved for many years in a garage?

By using some paint and a rubber filigree door mat as a template, clever Leah did magic.

Click here for the full post.

Isn’t it lovely??
 

9 Comments

Filed under Design, DIY

9 responses to “IKEA hack: boring old rug to chic block-print fabulousness

  1. so gorgeous! now i have to go back and check out your hack.

    your cake turned out magnificent! my macarons are scrumptious. but. here’s the deal. what i had in mind was tiffany blue and then a photo shoot with a box, yadda yadda…and they looked the perfect hue raw but after baking, they morphed a narsty ugly green. not sure there’ll be any stylin in these puppies’ future.

    michele

  2. This is seriously one of the greatest do-it-yourself projects ever!!! Thank you so much for sharing this.

    I will definitely be back.

    Leigha

  3. wow what an amazing diy project!
    thanks for stopping by today –i really appreciate it and love finding new blogging friends šŸ™‚

    xo,
    joAnn @ http://idratherbeshopping.wordpress.com

  4. No! This is such a great project diy project – it looks so easy! So nice to meet you and find your blog šŸ™‚

  5. Thank you for finding my blog…if you didn’t, I wouldn’t have found yours! I love all the inspiration you have here!!! ps..this rug is to die for!

  6. I feel I have to try this project myself… just have to get the hubby to agree we NEED another rug (at least it’ll be on a budget) šŸ™‚

    I am just loving this world of blogging and making bloggy friends! Thank you all so much for stopping by! xx

  7. Wow, what a simple yet great idea! Love it šŸ™‚ XOL

  8. very very cool! love your blog!

Leave a Reply

