Masculine chic living rooms {Reader request}

This weekend I received a reader request from Rich in Milton Keynes who said, “I’ve been in my new place for a few months now, living with just the bare essentials of furniture. Thinking it’s now time to make it look more comfortable and livelier, starting with the living room. Do you have any ideas/pictures for modern-ish manly-ish living rooms with character? I’m all for some soft touches but nothing too frilly or fussy please!”

I’m very glad to have received this request, it made me realise there is a bit of a shortage of masculine chic inspiration on my blog. Sorry boys! Anyway, here are some gorgeous living rooms which I think fit the bill and which I too (a girl) would move into in a heartbeat, given the chance!

 

Primarily neutral with deep bronze tones and symmetry make this a very strong sophisticated look. Pops of lime, yellow and fuchsia provide soft relief and pattern to balance the ambience.

 

Confident use of textures has this space oozing with style. Tiger rug, shiny silver wall, gorgeous art… very cool!

 

Gorgeously refined eclecticism! I adore the rug and the lamp.

 

Charcoal, tan and blue make a great colour scheme here. Love the use of the traditional rug and vintage chair which give this space masses of character.

 

I know this isn’t as such oozing masculinity, it’s more an all-rounder space for those who might like a light, bright, uplifting space that is comfortable without being fussy. Or maybe I just HAD to showcase this space after I came across it at the weekend… teal velvet and ochre patterned cushions and that rug – OMG!! This is how to do colour! My only snag here is the TV is positioned too high, but don’t let that detract from the lovely colours!

 

Images: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5

 

14 Comments

Filed under Design, Living rooms

14 responses to “Masculine chic living rooms {Reader request}

  1. Rich

    Meera – thank you very much, these are incredible. Particularly like the sofa and art in (1), the lamps in (2), the rug in (3), the chairs in (4) and (5). Thinking I need your services to help put it all together 🙂

  2. Ally

    Oh my word, that rug in the last pic!! Where can I get one like that????

  3. These pics are divine! The colour combination in the first pic is so glamorous, I adore it…

    Loving your blog, so nice to discover a great UK blog! Thanks so much for linking me 🙂 x

  4. Gorgeous – I love that grey wool sofa and the pop of pink in the first pic.
    You have a lovely blog!
    Rachie xo

  5. Just found your blog by chance and love it! Love pic # 3.

  6. Those pictures are gorgeous, Meera. I really like the pictures you’ve picked out. How’s your work going, by the way? Are you enjoying it? I’m fascinated by what you do!!
    Sarahx

  7. love ur style!! its awesome!

Leave a Reply

