Favourite nurseries

A big big thank you and smooches to you sweeties for all the love you gave me about my baby news!! You are so so lovely! Your comments and wishes have had me beaming :)

The ‘Spot the Difference’ photos were taken at 5 weeks (when we found out) and at 20 weeks (which was last week), so I’m over half way there!! WEEEEEEE! SO excited to meet my little bambino!!

We are hoping to move house soon, so it is unlikely that I’ll be decorating the nursery any time soon. Whether we move before the baby is born or after depends largely on how the housing market treats us, so it’s a bit up in the air for now. Nonetheless, I have been like a magpie when it comes to collecting images of creative, happy nurseries, so I’ll have plenty of ideas for when I am let loose on the decorating! Here are a dozen of my favourites, ranging from pink and girly to gender neutral to baby boy ‘bachelor’ pads, each with gorgeous ideas:
 


Amy Meier Design

Sweet and chic! I like that the ceiling was painted peachy-pink rather than the walls. The curtain fabric is darling and the chair upholstered in big red gingham fabric is sweet without being too girly. The gallery wall contains pages from a book of children’s poems and drawings – lovely!

 


found on Flickr

Again loving that the pink is kept off the walls and put on the floor this time, in the form of hot pink carpet tiles (very practical). Pale aqua is such a lovely soft wall colour for a little girl’s room. The giraffe shape looks like it is done with vintage wallpaper (totally do-able). A plain white roman blind can be painted using little handmade stencils et voilĂ  – it becomes instantly more interesting!

 


Armelle blog

Soft blue walls again – really work so well for a little girl’s room. I love the sunny yellow cot! Like sunshine in the room.

 


Ninainvorm

Another painted cot which was a vintage find. The wallpaper and vintage items give this adorable nursery a comfy and happy charm. The nursery later housed a larger cot in a similar style – that one got painted a bright yellow – check it out here.

 


via The Boo and The Boy

It seems I have a thing for sunny yellow in nurseries! It might have something to do how grey the skies have been lately in the UK. The window seat is so cute, I can imagine a little’un sat up there enjoying a read.

 


Lay Baby Lay

Aqua and coral: absolutely love this beautiful girly nursery, from the sublime wall colour to the coral accents to the beautiful dresser turned into a changing table. If you are looking for a stream of nursery ideas, check out all the amazing moodboards created by Joni on Lay Baby Lay.

 


via Design Chic

A fun teepee, lovely big art and a beautiful carved (vintage?) sideboard for storing toys – love it all.

 


via Stadshem

I would love to give my bambino a large map. I know I would’ve loved one as a kid, and if I’d had one, perhaps my geography wouldn’t be so pitiful!

 


Elizabeth Sullivan Design

Books are cool! So I love this nursery corner and how the books form a colourful feature wall. The striped ceiling is cute too!

 


via Livingetc

Another striped ceiling in a very cool boy’s room. It’s yellow! :) Click here to see how this boy’s room decor has matured as he has grown. The rugs, black wall, chest of drawers, ceiling light and striped yellow ceiling all remain, showing they got it right the first time!

 


via Mix and Chic

I like the grey camouflage walls – cooler than having just plain grey. And oh, there’s the sunny yellow again!

 


Design Crisis

Erin of Design Crisis calls this room her son’s baby bachelor pad! Click on the image source link to see how she put it all together and to get a closer look at the room. I love how well she mixed all the lovely vintage finds with new white baby furniture and created a very practical, hardwearing and downright gorgeous boy’s room!

 

Have you decorated for a little person? Any more ideas or tips? Do share!

 

7 Comments

Filed under Nurseries & kids' rooms

7 responses to “Favourite nurseries

  1. yes yes, so many times! i have done the bright yellow and loved it. but i’m not crazy about yellow painted walls. instead, big circus-y wide striped yellow and white wallpaper combined with another bold periwinkle paper. years later caribbean blues and now planked wood for the men! so excited for you to synthesize all this inspiration and make it your own. s’gonna be lovely!

    smiles, friend.

    michele

  2. Colin

    I want the one with the big map. Not for our bambino, mind, but for me :-)

  3. I absolutely love collecting pics of stylish nurseries and we don’t even have a baby!! hahaha (I even have a pinboard, I’m that sad!) These pics are gorgeous and yes yes yes to the sunny yellow – I love it combined with pale turquoise and pinky corals… yum!

    xxx

  4. Gorgeous nursery inspirations! Love the first nursery, I even pinned it lately from a blog I read somewhere! I am sure when you get a chance to decorate the nursery, it will look fabulous! Congrats again! So happy for you, my friend!

    Thanks for entering my current giveaway. Good luck!

    Jessie
    http://www.mixandchic.com

  5. WHAT???!!!!!! Did I miss all of this!!!!!! SUPER congratulations Mama! I am sooooo happy for you and Hubby! A little gift from Seattle will absolutely come your way. And you get to pick it from my store!

    Love, love love,

    Mon

  6. Pingback: Trend Watch :: Stripes | Lemon Drop Blog

Leave a Reply

